Astrophysics and Astrochemistry

Program description:

ch
Area of studies:
03.04.02
Physics
ch
Branch of science:
Mathematical and Natural Sciences
ch
Institute:
Institute of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
ch
Degree awarded:
Master's degree
ch
Intake Year:
2019
ch
Mode and duration of study:
About admission this year, see here
Programs Open for Enrollment

Entry requirements: 

4-year Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) in astronomy or physics

 

Program goal: 

The primary goal of the program is to prepare students for the research work in astrophysics and astrochemistry. For that, deep understanding of physics, astronomy and chemistry, as well as research skills, strategic planning, critical evaluation of the scientific results and the ability to think independently are critical. All those professional and soft skills will be trained during the two-year course of the research-oriented master studies.

 

Program's highlights:

1. The master’s degree program in astrophysics and astrochemistry allows the participants to focus on either experimental or theoretical topics. The distinctive feature of the program is research-oriented approach which means that students are expected to pursue their own research during master studies under the guidance of UrFU’s academics.

 

2. Ural Federal University is one of the handful universities across the globe that offers degree in astrochemistry as well as in astrophysics.

 

3. The program is divided into two parts. During the first two semesters, students will take core courses in general astrophysics, astrochemistry and advanced courses in physics. In addition, students can also choose a specialized. Knowledge and abilities developed in the first three semesters, will be strengthened and enhanced during a half-year-long research phase which is scheduled for the fourth semesters. During this stage, the master thesis based on research work conducted by a student shall be completed with accompanying colloquia, tutorials and seminars.

 

Career opportunities:

Alumni of the Master of Science in Astrophysics and Astrochemistry are successful both in academia and industry. Those interested in academic careers typically enroll in highly competitive PhD programs both in leading Russian academic institutions and abroad. Many of those received PhD degrees successfully continue their careers in academia. Alumni interested in industrial careers find jobs in a wide range of industries, including IT, geodesy, logistics and many other fields that are in need of highly skilled employees.

 

Possibilities for continuing research

Graduates of the subject 03.04.02 "Physics" (Master’s program “Astrophysics and Astrochemistry”) are prepared to continue education as postgraduate students of the next subjects: 01.03.02 “Astrophysics and Stellar Astronomy”, 01.03.01 “Astrometry and Celestial Mechanics”.

 

Система Orphus

Астрофизика и астрохимия/ Astrophysics and Astrochemistry

Описание программы:

ch
Направление подготовки:
03.04.02
Физика
ch
Научная отрасль:
Математические и естественные науки
ch
Институт:
Институт естественных наук и математики
ch
Уровень образования:
Магистратура
ch
Год(ы) набора:
2019
ch
Форма и срок обучения:
О наборе в текущем году смотреть здесь
Список актуальных программ

Требования к поступающему:

Степень бакалавра по астрономии или физике.

 

Цель программы:

Основной целью программы является подготовка студентов к исследовательской работе в области астрофизики и астрохимии. Для этого решающее значение имеют глубокое понимание физики, астрономии и химии, а также научно-исследовательские навыки, стратегическое планирование, критическая оценка научных результатов и способность мыслить независимо. Обучение этим профессиональным и личным навыкам будет проходить в течение двухлетнего курса научно-ориентированных магистерских исследований.

 

Особенности программы:

1. Магистерская программа по астрофизике и астрохимии позволяет участникам сосредоточиться на экспериментальных или теоретических темах. Отличительной чертой программы является научно-ориентированный подход, который означает, что студенты должны проводить свои собственные исследования во время магистерских исследований под руководством ученых УрФУ.

 

2. Уральский федеральный университет является одним из немногих университетов по всему миру, который предлагает степень в области астрохимии, также, как и в астрофизике.

 

3. Программа разделена на две части. В течение первых трех семестров студенты будут проходить основные курсы общей и теоретической астрофизики, астрохимии и дополнительных курсов физики. Кроме того, студенты также могут выбрать специальные дисциплины. Знания и способности, приобретенные в течение первых трех семестров, будут укрепляться в течение фазы исследований, которая запланирована на четвертый семестр.

 

Карьерные возможности:

Выпускники магистратуры в области астрофизики и астрохимии успешны как в академических кругах, так и в промышленности. Те, кто интересуется академической карьерой, как правило, поступают в аспирантуру как в ведущих российских академических институтах, так и за рубежом. Многие из тех, кто получил степень кандидата наук, успешно продолжают свою научную карьеру. Выпускники, заинтересованные в прикладные исследованиях для нужд промышленности, находят работу в самых разных отраслях, включая ИТ, и многие другие отрасли, которые нуждаются в высококвалифицированных сотрудниках.

 

Возможности для продолжения исследований

Выпускники направления готовы продолжить образование в аспирантуре по направлению 03.06.01 «Физика и астрономия», направленности: 01.03.02 «Астрофизика и звездная астрономия», 01.03.01 «Астрометрия и небесная механика».

Система Orphus